‘Three Identical Strangers’ Takes Home the Dorfman Best Film Award as the 22nd UK Jewish Film Festival Winners are Announced

The UK Jewish Film Festival are thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s awards following this evening’s Closing Night Gala award ceremony at London’s Curzon Mayfair.

The festival awards recognise achievement in both fiction and documentary feature-length films, with The Dorfman Foundation sponsoring the festival’s ‘Best Film’ award. The UK Jewish Film Festival are determined to ensure that nurturing and supporting new creative talent is at the heart of the festival.

The festival awards this year were:

Dorfman Best Film Award – Supported by The Dorfman Foundation

Recognising powerful and outstanding filmmaking in both fiction and documentary films.

Best Debut Feature Award

An award for new filmmaking talent that displays originality and freshness of vision from a first-time fiction feature film.

Best Screenplay Award

Presented to acknowledge excellence in screenwriting in a fiction feature film.

Audience Choice Award

Audience’s favourite film at this year’s festival.


Dorfman Best Film Award – Supported by The Dorfman Foundation

Winner: Three Identical Strangers by Tim Wardle

Jury: Michael Kuhn (Head of Jury), Clare Binns, Henry Goodman, Anita Land, Andrew Pulver, Michael Rose

“Three Identical Strangers is a joy to watch and, like an onion, reveals itself layer upon layer. Both terrific entertainment and a serious and very moving story, the film is cleverly constructed as an unusual mixture of documentary, drama and thriller. The jury was delighted to award the prize to this impressive film.”

Michael Kuhn, Head of Jury, Dorfman Best Film Award 2018, UK Jewish Film Festival

The award was be presented by film producer Michael Kuhn to the film’s producer Dimitri Doganis.

Best Debut Feature Award

Winner: Driver by Yehonatan Indursky

Jury: Claudia Rosencrantz (Head of Jury), Chris Auty, Ben Caplan, Paul Morrison, Dianne Nelmes, Carol Russell

“The jury were delighted and impressed by ‘Driver’, a beautiful, moving and funny exploration of a father and his daughter and of the moral grey areas he navigates within an orthodox religious community. Powerful and surprising this is the unusual and often raw tale of a man whose job is coaching people to tell their stories but is unable to tell his own.”  

Claudia Rosencrantz, Head of Jury, Best Debut Feature Award 2018, UK Jewish Film Festival

The award was presented by TV producer Claudia Rosencrantz to the film’s director Yehonatan Indursky.


Best Screenplay Award

Winner: Death of a Poetess, screenplay by Dana Goldberg and Efrat Mishori

Jury: Nik Powell (Head of Jury), Josh Appignanesi, Philippa Goslett, Amy Rosenthal, Georgia Slowe, Derek Wax

“This provocative and intriguing drama, with its naturalistic, quasi-documentary style, hugely impressed the jury. An elliptical portrayal of a deeply troubling story that stays with you long after the film has ended.” 

Nik Powell, Head of Jury, Best Screenplay Award, UK Jewish Film Festival

The award will be presented by film producer and Head of Jury Nik Powell to the film’s co-screenwriter Dana Goldberg.

Audience Choice Award

Winner: Forgotten Soldier. Director. Lucile Smith and Paul Goldin

Chief Executive of UK Jewish Film, Michael Etherton said: “Innovative approaches to filmmaking were among the stand-out themes of the awards made by this year’s juries at the UK Jewish Film Festival. We were privileged to host these outstanding jurors from across the UK film industry and they were particularly impressed by the quality of the films in competition this year. ‘Three Identical Strangers’ is the extraordinary true story that is already making waves, brilliantly told and expertly crafted; ‘Driver’ takes a gentle and surprising look at a little-known Orthodox community, and ‘Death of a Poetess’ mixes documentary and drama techniques to highly original and disturbing effect.”    


For more information about the festival please visit: http://ukjewishfilm.org/

News Editor

Author: News Editor

Share This Post On